Tuesday, March 20, 2007

Vodacom finally reduces all its 3G & HSDPA data rates


South African Vodacom 3G & HSDPA consumers now pay as little as 19c per megabyte!

South Africa's largest cellular network, Vodacom, has cut its 3G & HSDPA broadband internet data rates by up to 61%.

On average it has more than halved the cost of its various packages, bringing them in line with their competitors.

2GB package had the most drastic price cut. The bundled 24-month contract (including a data card or USB modem), Vodacom subscribers will now pay R449 per month or 22c/MB (was R1 098), while the bolt-on data variation (without the modem), will cost R389 per month or 19c/MB (was R998), 3G and HSDPA charges are similar on Vodacom's new pricing structures.

Vodacom's 1GB packages now cost R349 per month (contract) and R289 per month (as a bolt-on option).

The price per megabyte ranges from around 50c for the low-end (500MB) options & as low as 19c for the 2GB, 5GB and 10GB bolt-on packages.

Vodacom Group CEO, Alan Knott-Craig, noted that two years ago, mobile data users were paying R40 per MB in a recent press release.

This simply shows how expensive Telkom is, therefore it makes Telkom's recent statement that it will halt drastic ADSL price cuts even more ridiculous.

Telkom executives said that the company "would halt drastic price cuts for broadband access". It seems that Telkom would rather do now is up the value by offering higher speeds to its clients.

Mobile Wireless operators are able to cut prices by 50-60%, in spite of the fact that Telkom still controls international bandwidth which ironically contributes a major portion of the cost of providing 3G/HSDPA services.

Telkom's ADSL is now one of the most expensive internet broadband products in the country and internationally the mobile wireless providers are very expensive whereas in South Africa the situation is the opposite, mainly because of Telkom's dominant position in the fixed line environment.

Nelio de Sa

Vodacom reduces 3G & HSDPA broadband monthly tariffs by 61%

Whether you're a Contract Customer on 3G or HSDPA, you can surf the Internet for under 20c per meg.

That's truly amazing when you think that just two years ago you were paying R50 a meg! This discount will automatically apply to all existing Vodacom customers from the 1st of April, forever.

You don't need to do a thing! If you aren't with Vodacom, just bring us your number and you can also take advantage of these classic low rates.
Terms and Conditions:


All prices include VAT.

Tariffs based on volume of data used for sending and receiving.

Use bundled bytes within 30 days. Unused data will be forfeited.

Once you have used up your bundle, the applicable out of bundle rate will apply.

SMS messages are charged at standard rates.

Data transfer rates are not guaranteed and are dependent on network availability and utilisation.

A compatible device is required to use the 3G HSDPA service.

One unit equals one byte.

Out of bundle pricing is rounded up to the nearest cent.

Bundles and tariffs only apply to standard APNs.

Tariffs do not apply to data roaming.

Migration terms and conditions apply.

For more information: Call 0861 777000 or 082 7776770 or info@chillies.co.za

Have a nice weekend :-)

Ciao…

Nelio de Sa

ofm to be first to launch womf forum website in South Africa


I had a rendezvous with OFM as they needed to inform me of a brand new exciting venture from Australia namely WOMF.com in which OFM will be investing in order to give their present client base an even more powerful advertising opportunities besides just the radio.


Word of Mouth is known by all successful businesses and top entrepreneurs as the cheapest but yet most difficult way of getting the good word out. People do like to promote good service and quality products & with WOMF.com & the power of Radio or should we say the powerful and large listeners base of OFM can only make such venture a huge success.


Today I took my daughter for breakfast at the WIMPY which is also a perspective client of Chillies & that's where I saw OFM advertising agency XPOZURE under the leadership of Alna Retief promoting WOMF.com to the Bloemfontein public at Preller Square shopping centre.


People responded well and seemed very curious to what WOMF.com stands for. The purpose of WOMF.com is that OFM will be using their system to provide a Forum for clients out there to WOMF the businesses they got good or bad service or products from.


Each Forum will be categorised according to type of business or service and in each of these specified forums businesses that is related to that service or product can bid their advertising space.


Once this is done Chillies will be be contacted by those advertisers which had successful bids and so that our consultants can assist in developing, designing & hosting their new website that will be linked from ofm.WOMF.co.za, clients can also make use of our very powerfull eCMS (Content Management Software) at additional monthly costs.


Gary Stroebel Marketing Manager of OFM is driving force behind this great & exciting venture of OFM and you can now access the website online at ofm.womf.co.za or go to ofm.co.za for more info.


Have a nice weekend :-)


Ciao...


Nelio de Sa


South Africa will soon also have WIMAX access early 2007


There is good news to all local wifi internet users or visitors from abroad coming to South Africa, because Altech & Korea’s Samsung Electronics will be putting the WiMAX broadband network to trial in South Africa as from June 2007.

Altech already had success with the submission of the test licence application to ICASA which they approved.

The WiMAX network will be installed firstly in Gauteng (no surprise!) & it will focus on the wireless delivery of triple play services, including video streaming, internet access and Voice over IP.

WiMAX is based on an “802.16e” platform of which cell-cell handover forms part of the core architecture, which is expected to dominate the wireless IP delivery for the following 10 years.

South Africa future is prominent & I’m looking forward to see WiMAX also get rolled out to the rest of South Africa before end this year, I hope!

Have a nice week :-)

Ciao…

Nelio de Sa

nelio@chillies.co.za www.chillies.co.za +27 (0)861 777000

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Monday, March 19, 2007

Every Business needs good e-marketing strategies


E-marketing adds a magic ingredient to the traditional marketing mix: track able, digital delivery.


Being able to trace distribution and responses right down to the individual recipient gives e-marketing campaigns immense value in relation to their cost.

They can be a highly-effective and surprisingly affordable way promoting products, building a brand and increasing customer retention.


The speed of delivery and feedback (days, or even hours) allows the sender to adjust content and format during the course of a campaign, at minimal additional cost.


Calls for action are more effective, as customers need to do little more than “click once” to respond.


Software application such as PACO Bulk Messaging Solutions (http://www.paco.co.za/), also make extensive communication relatively simple for one person to manage. In a nutshell-small business and e-marketing is a match made in heaven.


Digital delivery is around 70% to 90% cheaper than traditional methods, which require printing and postage.


The response time for email marketing campaigns averages three days, compared to an average three to six weeks for direct mail.


Types of e-marketing:


1. E-newsletters are widely used to build customer relations and loyalty.


They are sent out on a regular basis (e.g. weekly or monthly) and provide information that is of value to the customer.


They also encourage feedback by allowing customers to click through to forms or link on your business’s website.


However, an e-newsletter is only as good as your contact information.


Without a well-managed database your messages might reach the wrong people or no-one at all.


2. Viral marketing is the Internet’s equivalent to word-of-mouth advertising, and is one of the most effective and cost-efficient methods of building your email database.

These campaigns typically comprise of an email message with an incentive (often competition) to encourage recipients to forward the email to their friends and associates.

These friends are then encouraged to do the same.


To start a viral campaign you need to link your website to your database, you might also require some basic HTML programming skills.


In both cases, your Internet Service Provider and or Website Developer (http://www.chillies.co.za/) should be able to help.


3. Affiliate marketing is when someone promotes merchants products through their own website in return for a commission.


This can be worthwhile if the website is credible and trusted, and the commission rewarding.


4. Banner advertising usually refers to an advert that appears anywhere on a web page and which includes a click-through to your website.


They are usually charged for on a Cost per Impression (CPM) basis.


If your advert is shown I rotation with another, each appearance counts as one impression.


Costs vary, but should be balanced against the results you get.


For example, if 50 people visit your site via an advert that has been shown 1000 times, the click-through rate is 50 divided by 1000, multiplied by 100 = 5%. A 5% rate is a good average, 15% or higher is rare.


5. Credible Online Shopping Listings is a must for any e-trader.
Many internet service providers offer this to customers for free.


6. Business directory listings are also a good way of building awareness. For example http://www.bloemfonteininfo.co.za/ is a very comprehensive online directory for e.g. Bloemfontein business or companies wishing to do business in this area can also submit their business information on www.visitbloemfontein.co.za.


Ultimately all e-marketing initiatives drive visitors to your website, where you want them to be informed, enticed and persuaded to do business with you.


As with any other form of marketing, if your website, customer service and products don’t stand up to scrutiny, your campaigns won’t yield the results you hope for.


Have a nice week :-)


Nelio de Sa




South Africans now using Blogs like never before


Bloggers have been growing in stature but now only taking flame in South Africa.


There are now more South Africans lately making use of blogs & its fast becoming a big trend amongst families, friends, corporate workers, etc.


Blogs which was first used by high end techies in South Africa is now also used by many website owners, website designers/developers & webmasters to promote & optimize their website rankings for Googlebot.


More people use the blogs as the platforms available allows anyone to create a blog in a few simple steps.


Many users also use the blogs to get their voices heard against large corporate e.g. http://saeagle.wordpress.com/ which can be use to express your frustrations, etc.


South African users also use their blogs to post on topics such as politics & to update company website. Some government public private partnership initiatives like e.g. http://roadsafety.wordpress.com/ is some of the blogs used currently to support government.


You can also register your free blog at either http://www.blogger.com/ or www.wordpress.com

Bloggers can submit their blogs to http://www.technorati.com/ & they also have a cool feature which you can use to ping your blog every now and then so it can pick up all your latest updates.


You will have to register on Technorati website to be able to make use of all its features.

There are currently over 70 million active blog users world wide.

Have a nice week :-)


Nelio de Sa



Thursday, March 1, 2007

Insurance Company SA Eagle doesn’t pay its clients claim

Insurance Company SA Eagle doesn’t pay its clients claim

Short Term Insurance Company “SA EAGLES Insurance” declined to pay damages incurred by insured client Chillies.co.za and uses poor excuses to do so.

More information on this is on MONEYWEB website click here to view.

You can also find the Blog thats been created with information regarding this declined claim, you can find it by visiting http://saeagle.wordpress.com

Chillies will be developing a website www.saeagles.co.za which will allow the public to view and follow the legal actions that Chillies will now be taking against SA EAGLES Insurance to pay the claim which SA EAGLES Insurance unfairly declined.

More articles will be posted on major websites world wide and locally and those links can be found on the Blog created namely http://www.saeagles.co.za

Regards,

Nelio de Sa
nelio@chillies.co.za
www.chillies.co.za